Bryson DeChambeau in fresh Ryder Cup controversy with US star branded ‘classless’
Ryder Cup: Commentator says Rory McIlroy has been ‘scapegoat’
We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info
Bryson DeChambeau has been branded “classless” at the Ryder Cup. The American is at the centre of fresh controversy at the prestigious event, after objecting to Team Europe’s European decision not to concede a putt.
During his fourballs match with partner Scottie Scheffler on Saturday, Team Europe’s Viktor Hovland missed his chance to give his team an early lead.
DeChambeau was left with a short putt to halve the opening hole, which he took with aplomb.
However, he seemed less than impressed that he needed to do that and made a statement by leaving his putter on the ground next to the hole.
The gesture also illustrated the putt had been shorter than the distance from the club head to bottom of the grip and could have been conceded.
DeChambeau’s actions were not received well by Tiger Woods’ former coach Butch Harmon, who was commentating for Sky Sports.
JUST IN: US star Brooks Koepka slammed as an ‘entitled brat’ for actions at Ryder Cup
“Come on Bryson, that’s just not good, it’s not right, we don’t need it. Just play golf. Classless,” he fumed.
Former European captain Paul McGinley added: “This is out of order in my view. Come on, just get on with it.
“I guess we shouldn’t make too much of a deal of it. It was just a bit of petulance.”
DeChambeau’s teammate Brooks Koepka was slammed as an ‘entitled brat’ following a controversial exchange with Ryder Cup officials during the Saturday foursomes.
Koepka and partner Daniel Berger were one down on the par-four 15th in their crucial match with Jon Rahm and Sergio Garcia, when Berger’s drive landed near a drainage pipe just off the fairway.
The 31-year-old clearly felt he was entitled to relief and a free drop given the awkward lie, and after being told that the position of the pipe did not warrant such a ruling, he argued vehemently with match referee David Price and then European Tour official David Litton.
“Have you ever seen me hit a ball?” Koepka asked, after Price dismissed his claim he would not be able to execute a full golf swing.
Four-time major winner Koepka is returning from a wrist injury sustained at the season-finale Tour Championship this month, and even tried to use that to bolster his argument: “If I break my wrist, it’s on f****** both of you,” he ranted.
His behaviour drew criticism from the Sky Sports Golf commentary team, who felt that Koepka needed to take a penalty drop if he did not feel his wrist was up to sustaining the impact of a difficult shot from the rough.
Opponent Garcia however, saw the funny side, appearing to spit out his drink as he laughed at Koepka’s belligerence.
Elsewhere during yesterday’s play, Rahm and Garcia once again proved important for the Europeans, as they took the first point of the day for the second day on the bounce however more of the same followed, as the hosts again won the foursomes 3-1.
This meant Padraig Harrington’s side needed at the very least a 3-1 win in the fourballs and this looked on the cards as they led three matches for long periods throughout play.
Again Rahm and Garcia’s brilliance earned them yet another point, and this was followed by the heroics of Lowry and Hatton who secured another in an attempt to claw their team back into it.
In spite of this, two defeats then came in the final two games to ensure the US secured a comfortable 11-5 lead heading into day three.
Source: Read Full Article