When is the Heisman Trophy ceremony? Start time, odds, finalists for 2020 award presentation

It’s only fitting that in a season far from traditional, the Heisman Trophy ceremony will also be a little unique.

Moved from its usual mid-December slot on the calendar, this season’s ceremony will be held in January between the two College Football Playoff semifinals and the National Championship.

While the award given to the most outstanding player in college football has become a bit of a quarterback award, things may be different this season with Alabama’s DeVonta Smith at least receiving an invitation to the virtual ceremony. His quarterback Mac Jones is also a favorite to win the award, although their combined play may split votes.

Joe Burrow won last year’s Heisman in commanding fashion, winning over the likes of Jalen Hurts, Justin Fields and Trevor Lawrence, the latter two of which will receive votes again this season. Florida’s Kyle Trask has also had a dominant season leading the Gators to an SEC East title and could become the program’s first Heisman winner since Tim Tebow in 2007.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Heisman ceremony, including time, TV channel and betting odds for each of the four finalists.

When is the Heisman Trophy ceremony 2020?

The Heisman Trophy ceremony takes place Saturday, Jan. 5, a departure from its normal spot a week after conference championship week. The “ceremony” will involve a virtual presentation from ESPN studios in Bristol. 

Heisman Trophy odds 2020

Mac Jones, QB, Alabama

Jones had a similar year to last year’s winner Joe Burrow, in that both stepped out of near anonymity and had extraordinary success leading the team to undefeated SEC Championships. While Jones wont be one of the first quarterbacks taken in the 2021 NFL Draft, his 27 passing touchdowns in the regular season were the fifth-most in FBS.

DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama

Jones would likely still be a good quarterback wherever he played, but it certainly didn’t hurt having a weapon like Smith. Smith’s 1,327 receiving yards in the regular season were a full 134 more than the next closest player, and his 15 receiving touchdowns were four more than any other player in the Power 5.

Kyle Trask, QB, Florida

Trask had his first full offseason as the starter, and the effects could not have been better. The Florida quarterback trailed only Dillon Gabriel of Central Florida in yards per game, and Lawrence threw a whopping 40 touchdowns in the regular season, 10 more than anyone else in FBS.

Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson

Lawrence may not win the Heisman, but he’s all but a lock for the No. 1 pick in the 2021 NFL Draft. Lawrence led the ACC in completion percentage and finished second in yards per attempt. Some of his overall stats lag in the national picture given that he was forced to miss a game after testing positive for COVID-19.

Where is the Heisman Trophy ceremony held?

The Heisman Trophy winner is announced will be announced at ESPN’s studios in Bristol, Connecticut. It has previously been held in the PlayStation Theater, a concert venue in New York’s Times Square, since 2005.

How does the Heisman voting process work?

The Heisman winner is selected by 870 media members from across the country. Each voter picks a first-, second- and third-place finisher. The number of finalists depends on the distribution of the vote beyond the top-three vote-getters.

Ballots were distributed this year on Dec. 14, and voters had until Dec. 21 to submit their vote, meaning that conference championships factor into the vote. 

Source: Read Full Article